we’re back…..

Hey, we’ve been away, having taken the djeddieo show on the road for the annual Caribbean relaxation tour. While we’ve been taking the trip for the last six years, only in the last two have I compiled a “soundtrack” CD for the trip: somewhat more accessible pop than I usually like that we can enjoy as a family in the car, by the pool, in the villa, etc. Last year’s, heavy with Amy Winehouse, Lily Allen and the like, became a summer staple as well. So, on that note, let me share this year’s with y’all, HERE. Download direct to your mp3 player (or burn a CD if you must) for your summertime listening pleasure.

While much in St. Martin has changed this year (like the Euro costing $1.62, for example), much is the same, as we would have hoped. Rasmo My buddy Jerry, who goes by the name “Rasmo”, still walks Orient Beach each day selling his calabashes (it’s like a mini-coconut that he fashions into a kind of purse; a totally useless yet must-have souvenir). Jerry’s got nothing to do with music, but I like him and I bought him the Celtics shirt, so I wanted to show him to the world (all 20 of you).

Another fixture on the beach is Dread I, a local reggae singer.

Dread I

Dread I walks the beach pitching his own music, offering listens from his discman and selling CDs directly. It’s not the kind of activity that would give one very high expectations for the quality of the music, but it turns out to be very good. It was actually Rasmo that told me to give it a listen, and I bought the above “Share Dem” CD last year and loved it. If you genuinely like reggae music, you’ll like Dread I. His new CD comes out in June, and I plan to buy it online. In the meantime, check out one of my favorites from Share Dem, “Try Again”:

Lastly, it’s not just breezy island music on my mind. Portishead has a new CD out, titled “Third”. I love a band that waits until they have something NEW to say before they churn out a new record (as good as the new R.E.M. CD is, does it cover new ground for you? For that matter, when was the last time U2 had anything new to say?) After ten years off, Portishead is back with music just as trippy as ever, but a little more aggressive and irritating, which can be good for you at times. Check out “Machine Gun”, then go buy the whole CD.

Portishead

Leave a Reply

