New Girl: “Tomorrow Knows”; new VV Brown; Slumdog mania

Alright, since Amy Winehouse  hit the scene (April 2007 for me, and I was late to the party!), there’s been plenty of room for many other of her ilk: Duffy, Adele, Gin Wigmore, etc. I don’t understand how New Girl could still be “unsigned” (listen/download “Tomorrow Knows” HERE). I heard it on Passport Approved in December, but Googling finds them ONLY on Passport Approved! (maybe now djeddieo.com will come up too) Searching their old playlists over there, listeners started buzzing about them in September yet still: no MySpace page or other website, no photos, no blog mentions….how can that be? I invite comments from my thousands of readers!!!*

*You think I’m kidding about that, but in just over a year on the web, djeddieo.com has over 12,000 hits (no, my own aren’t counted!) Sure, they really started ramping up once Buzz Biscuits joined the staff, but I still get to bask in the (LCD) glow!

**********************************************************************************

VV Brown (speaking of the Amy Winehouse clones….and I mean that in the most complimentary way) has a new single, “Leave”.

It’s a lot like “Crying Blood”, so you’ll either like ’em both or not. I find it painlessly entertaining and look forward to more. Not crazy about the hairdo she sports in the video and elsewhere, as she’s much easier on the eyes in the photo above, but I generally enjoy my tunes ears-only anyway! Nice video, though:

If you’ve seen Slumdog Millionaire, you’ve likely become an evangelist for the film, as I have. Everyone I know that’s seen it tells everyone who hasn’t “you MUST see this film” (even Meredith Vieira on the Today Show, who’s been nuts about the movie since October). For me, it’s made me a little obsessive about all things Indian. Sure, I was already digging a little yoga, and I had enjoyed some Trader Joe’s tika masala simmer sauce, but now I’m searching out bhangra tunes (I even watched The Darjeerling Limited on OnDemand…not bad actually)! Never one to just go to a store and buy something, I searched the movie soundtrack online and found this great website, 8Tracks.com, where I plan to set up an outpost soon. Supposedly, it allows users to “create a mix”, but it’s just a mix-tape/compilation thing: no blends or beat-matching like a DJ mix. Still, I found it pretty easy to just search genres and come up with some bhangra to listen to while working (shoutout to Bally Sagoo)….FYI, there’s all types of music there:  I just slapped together this “mix” of my fave females, introduced by my fave New Zealand lunatics, Flight Of The Conchords. check it HERE.

2 responses to this post.

  1. eddieo,

    I actually met Amitabh Bachchan in the flesh about 2 years ago. I have a photo with him!

    Nice Site! I will stay tuned. felix

    Reply

    • I wouldn’t know Amitabh from chicken vindaloo! However, there’s a ton of web traffic about whether or not he dissed slumdog on his own blog. I’m very curious for your feedback on the New Girl track in this post. A little Anglo/American for your usual taste, I’d guess. BTW, I LOVE the that sophisticated pop you feature on your site …..anything in particular really fresh right now?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

