Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Iran, Soft Pack, Portasound, Dinosaur Pile-Up

2009 seems to be taking off at a quick pace for new sounds.  I already feel like I’m playing catch up to pass along some recent finds.

Pains of Being Pure at Heart are definitely getting some attention.  This Brooklyn band has been most reasonably labeled as shoegaze, with My Bloody Valentine references aplenty.  Though I was never a huge Smiths, or more accurately Morrisey fan, their vocal phrasings remind me of his; and they work against the Pains’ hurried, fuzzier-than-Johnny Marr backdrop.  Everything With You being the most evident of this description…

iran1Staying in Brooklyn, I Can See the Future (download it here) by Iran has me keen to hear more.  The band’s controlling force appears to be Aaron Aites, but its most recognizable member is guitarist Kyp Malone, vocalist/guitarist from TV on the Radio which makes the song I Already Know You’re Wrong sound very familiar.

softpack11Moving to San Diego, the Soft Pack (previously known as The Muslims until very recently) put out an eponymous album last year under their old moniker.   I have no idea why I make this reference, but I think these guys are what I was hoping Vampire Weekend would be:  clever, edgy, somewhat educated sounding garage rock.  VW let me down by being a little too educated (?) and a little less edgy/garagy.  Soft Pack seem to hit that mark for me.  Pick any song on their MySpace page and enjoy.

And a couple of tidbits…
Fun Song of the Moment: The Wrong Parade by Portasound.  Song #1 here.  If you like it, you can download it here for free… after signing up/logging in.

Rock-Out Song of the Moment: My Rock N Roll by Dinosaur Pile-Up.  While you’re there, definitely check out Love is a Boat and We’re Sinking… shows they may have more than one dimension.  I’m keeping my eye on these guys.

Leave a Reply

