Florence & The Machine

…remember when you’d make a new mixtape, and it would be perfect with all the hot new songs you want, and then one new song comes out that makes your mixtape seem like it’s not so perfect anymore? (this is why I should just use an iPod). anyway, that song for me right now is “The Dog Days Are Over” by Florence & The Machine. Download it HERE.

Florence Welch of Florence & The Machine

Florence Welch of Florence & The Machine

I thought for sure I had posted about her before, but a search of the blog came up empty. I thought I recalled reading (or writing) that she sounds a lot like Kate Nash, if Kate Nash was about to kick you in the teeth. Comparisons also include Karen O (no relation to me, ha-ha), Regina Spektor, and Jemina Pearl.

Her MySpace page doesn’t have nearly enough songs on it, including only a (pretty good) club mix of “…Dog Days…”, but it does have the song that originally got my attention back in November (when I THOUGHT I posted something), “A Kiss With A Fist” as well as a cover of a song that’s near and dear to my heart, Candi Staton’s “You Got The Love” (I had been, like every other working DJ at the time, all over “Victim” in 1978…when “You’ve Got The Love” came out in ’91 or so, it was a bit too downtempo for the big room I was spinning in, but I used to rock that jam to death in the early, just-opening hour, and I know the bartenders were digging it. When it was used as the closing song for the final episode of Sex And The City, it gave me some justification for my glassy eyes beyond just saying goodbye to Carrie, Charlotte, Miranda and  Samantha. Allright, now I’m getting a little too swishy; let’s watch the video for K.W.A.F.

..and you should seek out the video to “…Dog Days…”, which I’m not able to embed. Go HERE to watch it.  (and, in the event that I’ve got you nostalgic for Sex And The City or Candi Staton, here’s a “non-video video of “You Got The Love” (deejays and house music purists: resist the temptation to skool me on the Jamie Principle/Frankie Knuckles roots….this is Candi’s jam)

Leave a Reply

