Miss Li

I try to note exactly where I first hear an artist, so I can report that here. Often, it’s another, better blog, or Internet radio, like Indie 103.1 or BBC6. This time, however, I’m stumped. I must’ve received an email with a link to the mp3, ‘cuz I downloaded it to my Blackberry, but now I can’t find the email. That’s the bad news…..the GOOD news is that I love the song.

Miss Li

The song is “Bourgeois Shangri La”, and it’s what I like to call a “djeddieo song”: quirky, gritty, hard to define, and not like much else out there.  I have read that it’s on an iPod commercial, but I don’t recall hearing it there, and other tunes of hers have been featured on “Grey’s Anatomy” and Showtime’s “Weeds”, shows I don’t watch. A Stockholm native, Miss Li is 27 year old Linda Carlsson, and she does tend towards a somewhat retro vibe, but it’s hard to pin down just what period (what period does Tom Waits evoke?) She brings  to mind Ida Maria and Gin Wigmore, and I look forward to adding her to my quirky female vocal compilation discs soon. She’s got a MySpace page, and an older one HERE, and a website, of course. Here’s the song; please tell us what you think.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Novagoal on February 6, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Miss Li is awesome! My favourite Bourgeois Shangri-La, her song together with Amansa Jenssen! Sweden has so many talented new musicians!

    Have you seen this one yet? Awesome cover of Bourgeois Shangri-La 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Reply

  2. that is BRILLIANT Novagoal! Thanks for visiting and sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

