compilation #24, now on Mixpod…..

Briefly:

Florence + The Machine “Shake It Out”: unabashedly bombastic! Big ups for bringing it to my attention to my cousin Amber Caparas, a talented singer/songwriter in her own right (click HERE)

All Mankind “Simple Desire”: U2-influenced and lovely

Founds “Gypsy Horse”; Brisbane Australia sextet evokes Siouxsie And The Banshees by way of Taken By Trees

mailman john “Stop This Song”: just when the creepy tale get’s interesting, they “Stop This Song!!”

Mates of State “Maracas”: this band has gotten very slick in the 5 years since I first heard them….why it’s called “Maracas,” IDK…

Fallulah “Only Human”: yet another Scandinavian chanteuse, this one from Denmark. Has that hiccup that calls to mind Martha Davis of The Motels

Wild Flag “Romance”: a female indie supergroup, representing Sleater-Kinney, the Minders and Helium. 80’s-ish garage.

St. Vincent “Cruel”: much bouncier and more lively that her trippy “Surgeon,” which I also loved.

Remi Nicole “Rock N Roll”: an old one, from 2007, cuz it hit me just the right way…..

French Films “Convict”: quintet from Finland puts “French” in their name and sounds like California surf music.

Matt & Kim (w/ Soulja Boy and Andrew WK) “I’m a Goner”: you had me at Matt & Kim; now I have a fave Soulja Boy song and a favorite Andrew WK song!

ZakeE “Snakes”: he’s a DJ, so he “remixed” the ‘ish out of his own track. Give it a try or two.

Blitzen Trapper “Astronaut”: people think I’ve lost my mind; I didn’t like this 70’s country rock in the 70’s, but this Portland, OR six-piece soars.

Birdy “People Help The People”: a cover of a song I didn’t know with an angelic vocal by an unknown 15 year old. not unknown for long.

Gotye w/ Kimbra “Somebody That I used To Know”: this song tells a story like a movie, and now I want to see the movie! Kimbra triples an already great song.

Feist “How Come You Never Go There”: Feist. ’nuff said.

Ryan Adams “Chains of Love”: the most prolific recording artist of our time revisits his alt-folk/country origins…..

Cameras “Defeatist”: Joy Division -> Interpol -> Editors -> Cameras (from Australia)

Long Lost Sun “Right Light”: yet another boy/girl electronic duo, this one from South England. She sounds like Ellie Goulding, not a bad thing….

3 responses to this post.

  1. Just a suggestion, you might want to turn off autoplay. It can be annoying for people who don’t want the music to start playing as soon as they arrive at the page, and especially when multiple songs start playing at once.

    Reply

    • I wish I could Eeyore, but Mixpod has a mind of its own! I’ve checked and double-checked the HTML code, and I’ve got autoplay OFF on both players! Even Panos, the WordPress expert, has thrown up his hands. I tried to check YOUR blog to see if you have any Mixpod players, but your blog is private…….Thanks for stopping by, BTW.

      Reply

    • well @Eeyore, I took another crack at fixing it, and it looks like I did (with Panos’s help!) Thanks for bringing it (back) to my attention!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

